‘Montenegro should be a full member of EU, period’ – PM

Milojko Spajić, Montenegro Prime Minister

Prime Minister Milojko Spajić reaffirmed the nation’s commitment to joining the European Union during a recent address.

“In our pursuit towards Brussels, Montenegro is resolutely determined to achieve full EU membership. We aim to establish ourselves as dependable allies to NATO,” stated Spajic during a press conference held jointly with US Special Representative for the Western Balkans, Gabriel Escobar, in the capital city of Podgorica.

Spajić noted that Escobar had expressed the United States’ backing for Montenegro in its European integration endeavors. “The support of the United States in terms of economic growth and development is paramount. We anticipate increased investments from both American and European sectors in this regard,” he added.

Late in February, Oliver Varhelyi, the EU Commissioner responsible for enlargement and neighborhood policies, commended Montenegro as the most advanced candidate country in the EU accession process.

Regarding Spajic’s tenure as prime minister, Escobar praised the nation’s leadership for its forward-thinking approach. “Montenegro, under the guidance of its leadership, has demonstrated remarkable vision in steering the country forward. I extend my gratitude for their efforts. Each accession to the EU signifies enhanced prosperity and democracy. The concerning influence of Russia within the region cannot be overstated,” he emphasized.

Escobar also held discussions with Montenegro’s President, Jakov Milatović.

Since declaring independence in 2006, Montenegro submitted its formal application for EU membership in December 2008, subsequently attaining the status of a “candidate country” in December 2010.

Accession negotiations commenced on June 29, 2012, positioning Montenegro as the anticipated next member of the EU.

Having inked its inaugural document with NATO, the Partnership for Peace Framework Document, on December 14, 2006, Montenegro secured its status as NATO’s 29th member on June 5, 2017.